My Enneagram Type: Observer/Investigator

I have read about the enneagram personality test before and it sounded intriguing. I have now finally completed a couple different online tests and it seems very clear that I am unequivocally a Type 5.

Here are some characteristics of a Type 5 personality:

Alert

Aloof

Analytical

Cerebral

Content-focused

Curious

Disconnected

Focused on intellectual understanding

Innovative

Insightful

Intense

Isolated

Lonely

Minimalist

Not big on “small talk”

Observing rather than participating

Perceptive

Preoccupied with their thoughts

Secretive

Sensitive

Oh, it all makes so much sense to me!

***

At their best, Fives become visionaries, broadly comprehending the world while penetrating it profoundly. Open-minded, take things in whole, in their true context. Make pioneering discoveries and find entirely new ways of doing and perceiving things.

At their worst, Fives become reclusive and isolated from reality, eccentric and nihilistic. Highly unstable and fearful of aggressions: they reject and repulse others and all social attachments. Seeking oblivion, they may commit suicide or have a psychotic break with reality. (…) Deranged, explosively self-destructive, with schizophrenic overtones. (https://www.enneagraminstitute.com/type-5)

Hmm…

At least I am in good company: Siddhartha Gautama Buddha, Albert Einstein, Bill Gates,  Jane Goodall, Eckhart Tolle, Kurt Cobain, Thom York (Radiohead) 🙂

***

Need to keep reminding my Dear Husband that this thing with me, continuously wanting to talk about shit and analyzing and dissecting stuff is not really my fault. Apparently, this is air to me. I was made this way.

Now excuse me for a moment, I need to go investigate some more…

Leave a Reply

